Please if you find this site helpful & wish to help with it's funding. Thank You.


Author Topic: ECU Voltages ??  (Read 3795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dave2302

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
ECU Voltages ??
« on: March 29, 2012, 09:25:03 AM »
Does anyone know what voltage the signal from ECU to Rev Counter is on EECV is it 5V or 12V ??

Cheers Dave


It's nice to be important but
It's more important to be nice

Offline capri v8 driver

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6744
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • http://
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2012, 20:10:09 PM »
The signal for the rev counter comes from the edis module, pin 2 and splits in 2, one to the tacho and the other to ecu pin 48.

This could help : http://www.msextra.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=94&t=17276

Voltage is from 0 to 12volts (quare wave)
greetz Paul.

Capri V8 Driver.

Offline fordrwd4ever

  • Don`t Fear, the Admin is here :)
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
  • Karma: +100/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • 1.0 (eco)Beast...
    • http://www.fordpower.org.uk
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2012, 07:34:47 AM »
Ok, that`s what i needed to know.
Now i can start designing the converter for using a 4 pot revcounter on a 6 pot engine ;D

Since it comes from the EDIS, it`s 3 pulses per revolution right?
So the frequency will be a few 100 Hz, that will make the schematic a lot more simple :angel:
Keep it very sideways..

Offline capri v8 driver

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6744
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • http://
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2012, 08:55:55 AM »
Quote
Since it comes from the EDIS, it`s 3 pulses per revolution right?

For a 6 cylinder, yes.
greetz Paul.

Capri V8 Driver.

Offline capri v8 driver

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6744
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • http://
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2012, 10:58:40 AM »
There are tach adaptors that can be used in this case:

http://www.momentummotorparts.com/store/electronics.asp
greetz Paul.

Capri V8 Driver.

Offline fordrwd4ever

  • Don`t Fear, the Admin is here :)
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
  • Karma: +100/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • 1.0 (eco)Beast...
    • http://www.fordpower.org.uk
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2012, 11:14:07 AM »
Nice devices, but quite expensive..

What i have in mind should cost just about 10 Euro`s.
That`s 1/8 of the price :angel:
Keep it very sideways..

Offline Dave2302

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2012, 11:38:50 AM »
Woah Woah guys, for just one second LOL  ;D

I have no EDIS Module !!

Does it make any difference that I'm using a V6 Mondeo ECU to run my BOB, which uses no EDIS Module, and thus fires the coils direct from the ECU.

The Rev Counter feed definitely comes from pin 48 on the ECU, which is why I'm not sure on the voltage, or is the signal to Coil Pack still the same ??

I don't know for sure..........

Please don't get me wrong, I'm very grateful for the help here, but I'd hate for you to make up something thats no good
Paul, do you know if it is indeed 12 V for certain ??
It's not unusual for me to be wrong LMAO !!

Regards Dave

 
It's nice to be important but
It's more important to be nice

Offline Dave

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Minker Owner & v6 specialist.
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #7 on: March 30, 2012, 12:38:02 PM »
 
When I did the tests with Matt's I got a correct RPM feed from the ECU but it was not stable so I switched to the OBD output.

I can't remember if Matt's tacho was reading correctly or not?

It still has to be a 6 cylinder tacho Dave as a 4 cylinder is 2 pulses & a 6 is 3 pulses.

I can not remember what volts the ECU was putting out either!

The ECU tacho output should be the same as the module output I would have thought.

The coils are inter changeable so that part must be the same.
Dave

Offline capri v8 driver

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6744
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • http://
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #8 on: March 30, 2012, 20:02:08 PM »
Quote
The Rev Counter feed definitely comes from pin 48 on the ECU, which is why I'm not sure on the voltage, or is the signal to Coil Pack still the same ??

Quote
The ECU tacho output should be the same as the module output I would have thought.

The edis module and the ecu have the same output.

And the voltage is not stable but its in a quare wave. If you take the signal from the coils, the voltage can spike up to 18volt.

Quote
Nice devices, but quite expensive..

What i have in mind should cost just about 10 Euro`s.
That`s 1/8 of the price

It just a idea, its has the advantage to go from digital to analog and from 6 to a 4 tacho.
greetz Paul.

Capri V8 Driver.

Offline Dave

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Minker Owner & v6 specialist.
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2012, 00:58:56 AM »
Just had a quick look for you.

The tacho signal comes from the Ignition Diagnostic Monitor (IDM) signal, which is derived from the kickback voltage spike that occurs when the primary side of a coil has fired.

A 4 cylinder has 2 coils where the v6 has 3 hence why the tacho is out.

It's a square wave no more than 14V +/-.

& there should already be a resistor somewhere to stop it spiking.

Dave

Offline fordrwd4ever

  • Don`t Fear, the Admin is here :)
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
  • Karma: +100/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • 1.0 (eco)Beast...
    • http://www.fordpower.org.uk
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2012, 01:10:25 AM »
So it does work @ 12 Volt signal voltage.

Ok, thats even easier then, saves a few components.
I have got the schematic working, but the circuit board is a lot harder to design..

I think i have found the most efficient way to create the signal:

Just omit every 3rd pulse, so you end up with a nice signal.
According to the specs of the chips , the circuit works from about 4 volts till 18 Volts
 [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

Feel free to try it out ;D

Should cost no more than a few quid to build.
Used parts:
U1 = HEF4013  (or CD4013)
U2 = HEF4001  (or CD4001)
R1, R2 = 10KOhm resistor
D1, D2 = BAT81 (or any other Schottky diode, its the spike protection...)
C1 = 100 microFarad capacitor (16 Volts or higher, just for stabilising the power for the 2 chips)
J1 = any 4 pin connector :angel:

Oh its for FordPower members only  :police:
Keep it very sideways..

Offline Dave

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5489
  • Karma: +3/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Minker Owner & v6 specialist.
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2012, 10:02:18 AM »
The voltage appears to range from 6v min to 14V with spikes way above that according to what I have read.

The IDM is also the check/diagnostic signal, any faults in it will cause error codes & LOS.

Dave

Offline Dave2302

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 764
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2012, 13:30:40 PM »
FordRWD,

What is VDD on the diagram ??

Dave,

Matts rev counter should read okay, because the car always was a 6 cylinder, sadly no MKIV Fiesta / Puma ever had a 6 pot.

Surely as we are breaking this signal betwen pin 48 and tacho ONLY, it shouldn't affect IDM monitoring in the ECU ??

Sorry if I sound dense but this chips and circuit board lark is all a bit beyond me ;)

I might try getting a 6 cylinder Rev Counter with the same needle sweep as mine and grafting its guts into the Puma dash cluster, similair to what I did with the temperature gauge !!

Does any kind soul fancy making the circuit above for me and I'll pay ??
PM me a price, can even advertise your company on the car for a discount ??

Regards Dave
It's nice to be important but
It's more important to be nice

Offline fordrwd4ever

  • Don`t Fear, the Admin is here :)
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
  • Karma: +100/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • 1.0 (eco)Beast...
    • http://www.fordpower.org.uk
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2012, 15:17:21 PM »
The VDD is just the +12V .
It actually is the power supply for both the cmos chips.

The program i use to design and test the schematic won`t work without defining the supply voltages for the cmos chips.
it connects to pin 14 of both cmos chips.

The ground is connected to pin 7 of both chips.

I think it`s not too hard to build this thing on a bit of prototyping board.



 
Keep it very sideways..

Offline fordrwd4ever

  • Don`t Fear, the Admin is here :)
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 577
  • Karma: +100/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • 1.0 (eco)Beast...
    • http://www.fordpower.org.uk
Re: ECU Voltages ??
« Reply #14 on: April 01, 2012, 01:18:07 AM »
To make it a bit easier, i have made a pcb layout for this circuit.
I also changed the schematic a bit, so it`s easier to understand.
(@ least, i hope so..)
It accepts any input from 3 volts and up and the output is a nice 12Volts signal.

If a lower output signal is needed, then a voltage regulator can be added @ request


This is the schematic :  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

This is the parts placement :  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

This is the PCB :  [ You are not allowed to view attachments ]

And to make it complete:

This is the partslist :

IC1      : HEF 4013 (or equivalent)
IC2      : HEF 4001 (or equivalent)
R1, R2 : 10 KOhm 0,25 Watt
D1, D2 : BAT48 ( or equivalent Schottky diode)
C1       : 100 microFarad / 16Volt electrolytic capacitor (radial mount)
J1        : 4 pin Molex connector (e.g. from an old 3,5 Inch floppy drive)
Keep it very sideways..

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk