We also host the AskNik site,just click on the Sierra

Please if you find this site helpful & wish to help with it's funding. Thank You.


Author Topic: My 3 door clone  (Read 4143 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline 3doorclone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« on: December 22, 2007, 20:25:18 PM »
Hi, here are some pics of my 3 door rep which i bought off ebay a little while ago.









« Last Edit: December 28, 2007, 22:08:05 PM by Taps »



Offline 3doorclone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2007, 12:28:03 PM »
Quote from: Taps
Paul
Got the pic's m8, that looks stunning, not got time tonight and working tomorrow but will get them up on here tomorrow night then tidy this tread up

Rob

Hi Rob,
          It might look good but can i get it to run right! i can get it to run smooth on idle, rev it and then it returns to a smooth idle, half hour later or the next day the things running lumpy again and cutting out when you rev it or just hunting on idle, i've done the idle by warming up engine, screwing the air bypass fully in disconnecting the ISCV and adjusting the idle speed using the throttle stop screw to about 650rpm( must try and get rev counter working too) and then reconnecting the ISCV, but it hunts on idle, if i screw out the air bypass by about 1 turn the idle is nice and smooth then as i said half hour later or next day its all lumpy again      Any ideas? air leak maybe? ISCV faulty?   any suggestions gladly welcome  

Paul.                PS

just another problem i'm having which may be related to the above problem, when the engine is started from cold i need to use abit of throttle(like a carbed engine) if i try to blip the throttle the engine either cuts out or has a massive flat spot and splutters then revs but most times it will just cut out when it returns to idle, not what you really want first thing in the morning (6am) when you need to go to work and the exhaust note is pi**ing the neighbours off :unsure  
« Last Edit: December 28, 2007, 15:18:40 PM by 3doorclone »

Offline robrs2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1112
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
My 3 door clone
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2007, 17:38:24 PM »
What engine ? sounds like what can happen on the SOHC 2.0 EFi. The tracks in the throttle pot crack.

Offline Taps

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2983
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://www.fordpower.org.uk
My 3 door clone
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2007, 22:16:22 PM »
Pic's added m8, there on my photobucket account, will try them on the uploader and see how I get on with them tomorrow, will let you know how I get on as if they load ok for me then its something you end stopping you doing the same I should think.

Offline 3doorclone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2007, 22:47:31 PM »
Quote from: robrs2
What engine ? sounds like what can happen on the SOHC 2.0 EFi. The tracks in the throttle pot crack.

Its the engine in the car above, 24v BOA, so if anyone can give me some much needed advice  

Quote from: Taps
Pic's added m8, there on my photobucket account, will try them on the uploader and see how I get on with them tomorrow, will let you know how I get on as if they load ok for me then its something you end stopping you doing the same I should think.

Nice one Rob, many thanks for posting pics    Any thoughts on my idle probs?

Offline robrs2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1112
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
My 3 door clone
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2007, 11:48:01 AM »
At last the pics   . Nice looking.

Right its a BOA then. One problem is the VSS sensor may not be connected due to it now being a manual.
Mine would cut out on tick over and the only fix i could do was to screw in the adjuster on the throttle butterfly stop to increase the idle speed.
Its not the best thing to do but works ok for me.

Offline 3doorclone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2007, 13:20:10 PM »
Quote from: robrs2
At last the pics   . Nice looking.

Right its a BOA then. One problem is the VSS sensor may not be connected due to it now being a manual.
Mine would cut out on tick over and the only fix i could do was to screw in the adjuster on the throttle butterfly stop to increase the idle speed.
Its not the best thing to do but works ok for me.

Hi, what does it idle at now? mines ok if i take it upto about 1100-1200rpm but it sounds to fast at that rpm.

Offline robrs2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1112
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
My 3 door clone
« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2007, 15:32:36 PM »
Idle is about 850rpm. Also worth checking if the lambda sensors are fitted and working

Maddoglips

  • Guest
My 3 door clone
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2007, 16:15:26 PM »
Hi M8

Absolutely awesome, love the colour. Good going.

Zane
« Last Edit: December 30, 2007, 07:26:50 AM by Taps »

Offline 3doorclone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2007, 17:46:13 PM »
Quote from: Maddoglips
Hi M8

Absolutely awesome, love the colour. Good going.

Zane

 Thanks Zane would have loved it moonstone  but this ford imperial blue is growing on me  

Quote from: robrs2
Idle is about 850rpm. Also worth checking if the lambda sensors are fitted and working
well i know they are fitted but as for working

Maddoglips

  • Guest
My 3 door clone
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2007, 18:08:56 PM »
Quote from: 3doorclone
Thanks Zane would have loved it moonstone  but this ford imperial blue is growing on me  
 well i know they are fitted but as for working

Cheers, let me know if you decide on a respray   as I'd love to make my 3 door that colour but dont want to copy LOL. If you think your lambdas are faulty let me know i have a set here i think.

Zane

Offline robrs2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1112
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
My 3 door clone
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2007, 18:31:27 PM »
Better off fitting new ones, there cheap anyway.

Offline 3doorclone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« Reply #12 on: December 29, 2007, 19:06:24 PM »
Quote from: robrs2
Better off fitting new ones, there cheap anyway.

How much is cheap  and where from (should i need some) thanks.


Quote from: Maddoglips
Cheers, let me know if you decide on a respray   as I'd love to make my 3 door that colour but dont want to copy LOL. If you think your lambdas are faulty let me know i have a set here i think.

Zane

i promised myself not to throw £££££££'s at it, my last toy cost me near on 7k, bodywork, paint, engine, brakes and so on ect ect ect  
« Last Edit: December 29, 2007, 19:07:31 PM by 3doorclone »

Offline robrs2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1112
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://
My 3 door clone
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2007, 06:27:35 AM »
Any motorfactors, from about £15 up

Offline Taps

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2983
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • http://www.fordpower.org.uk
My 3 door clone
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2007, 07:28:42 AM »
Quote from: robrs2
Any motorfactors, from about £15 up

I wish they were that cheap, think I need to move North

Offline phatfordxr4i

  • Advanced Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« Reply #15 on: December 30, 2007, 19:24:51 PM »
nice car just needs the bumper spoiler to finish it off  

Offline 3doorclone

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 255
  • Karma: +0/-0
My 3 door clone
« Reply #16 on: December 30, 2007, 21:16:51 PM »
Quote from: phatfordxr4i
nice car just needs the bumper spoiler to finish it off

Thanks but the car sits very low as it is

 

SMF spam blocked by CleanTalk